Mobilizing an International Solution to Support Venezuelan Migrants and Refugees Webcast, Aug 3

TUESDAY, AUGUST 3, 2021

10:00 A.M. ET (DC, New York), 9:00 A.M. CT (Chicago, Bogota, Lima), 7:00 A.M. PT (Los Angeles, Vancouver)

The international community pledged more than $1.5 billion in grants and loans during a high-level donor conference in June to support the Venezuelan migrants and refugees who comprise the world’s second largest external displacement crisis. Beyond financial contributions, the convening focused attention on the longer-term integration needs and strategies that host countries are pursuing, including regularization initiatives.

Reflecting on the short- and medium-term challenges facing Venezuelans in South America and the Caribbean, Venezuelan diaspora leaders and civil society members will explore what the donor conference achieved and discuss promising partnerships and initiatives. Speakers also will examine the protection and integration needs of Venezuelans, including for Afro-descendant, indigenous, female, and LGBTQ+ populations, and the role of the private sector in fulfilling these needs. Panelists will also assess how the funding from the 2020 high-level donor conference was used, its effectiveness in addressing Venezuelans’ needs, and what gaps remain.

Spanish-English interpretation will be provided.

Register at: http://my.migrationpolicy.org/p/salsa/event/common/public/?event_KEY=89815 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s