Supporting Unaccompanied Children in the U.S. Communities Where They Live Webinar, July 21

2:00 P.M. ET (New York, D.C.) / 1:00 P.M. CT (Chicago) / 12:00 P.M. MT (Denver) / 11:00 A.M. PT (Los Angeles)

Early 2021 saw record-setting numbers of unaccompanied children arriving at the southwest border, accompanied by much public scrutiny over their care while in federal custody. Less attention has been paid, however, to what happens once the children are released from federal custody into the care of family or other sponsors in communities across the United States. While the minors await immigration proceedings, what case management, legal services, and federal follow-up exist? What are local communities doing to support these children and what challenges persist? 

Join this webinar featuring findings from a recent MPI report examining the process of releasing children to sponsors, the current structure of federal post-release services, and the most significant needs these children and their U.S. sponsors experience. The discussion will consider what the recent increase in arrivals means for the children, the communities where they live, and schools they attend. Speakers will explore efforts by philanthropic, state, and local actors to address the needs of this population and their communities, what service gaps exist, and key recommendations to improve access to services.

Register at: http://my.migrationpolicy.org/p/salsa/event/common/public/?event_KEY=89791

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s